Skip Navigation



The College was established through a bill passed by the Rivers State House of Assembly, and signed into law on the 17th of August 2001 by the then Executive Governor of Rivers State, His Excellency, Sir Dr. Peter Odili.
The enabling law thus brings under one administrative umbrella the long existing Schools of Health Technology, Nursing, Midwifery and Public Health Nursing. These schools have existed for over twenty (20) years.

History of Individual Schools

  1. The School of Health Technology was established in 1974 to train low and middle level manpower for the health sector. It existed as a unit under the Rivers State Ministry of Health and had six departments, namely: Environmental Health, Community Health, Medical Laboratory Science, Pharmacy Technician, Health Information Management and Dental Surgery Technician.
  2. The School of Public Health Nursing was established in 1979, to offer courses in Public Health Nursing and Community Health Officers programs.
  3. The School of Nursing was established in 1970 to train Nurses.
  4. The School of Midwifery was also established in 1970 to train Midwives registrable with the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria.

Under the new administrative structure, the departments in the former School of Health Technology are now run as schools. This brings the total number of schools of the College to ten(10), each headed by a Director of School.